Fästen o fall

peinture de Jean-Louis Garnell: rectangles en différents tailles et couleurs
orchestre de chambre: double quintet à vents, clarinet basse, 17 cordes

orchestre de chambre: 2*2*3*2* 2000 00 0 str

commande: Concerts Suède
création: 26.3.1996 Stockholm New Music 1996
Omnibus blåsare / Musica Vitae, chef d'orchestre: Peter Scaba
éditeur: Svensk Musik

Fästen o fall (Handholds and downfalls) was composed for Musica Vitae and the Omnibus Wind Ensemble, commissioned by the Swedish Concert Institut. Despite the relatively large ensemble of 28 musicians, the music has "chamber music-like concentration". The ensemble is divided into two wind quintets and two string groups; four soloists are placed in the middle, namely a violinst, a viola player, a cellist and a clarinetist. The title reflects the musical process: strongholds which little by little collapse, change character, whose contours dissolve, turning into something different. Madeleine Isaksson's music is exactly that - music in transition, without a definite meaning, without a programme.

(After a commentary by Magnus Haglund).