Hasegawa Tohaku: pine trees
bass flute/ alto flute, english horn/oboe, alto saxophone (or clarinet in A), percussion, piano, violin, cello

commission: Concerts Sweden for ensemble MA
first performance: 5.9.2009, Capitol, Stockholm, MA: Sarah Lindloff, Kennet Bohman, Christer Johnsson, Eva Lindal, Chrichan Larson, Love Derwinger, Jonny Axelsson, conductor: Staffan Larson
publisher: Svensk Musik

A natural starting point for composing a piece for the ensemble Ma, was the inspiration of the japanish word Ma (dimension, interval, distance in space and in time). Sondes is composed out of a web of different tempi, each one connected to a specified space of time. Each instrument follow its way, its own combination of these spaces which throughout the piece cross, overlaps, cooperates with, or not, the others, creating a sort of patchwork, organized in seven sections. The title arised afterwards, Sondes, (Sounding lines), and relates foremost to the exploration of the register, towards depth and height.

Madeleine Isaksson

sondes.pdf (1.17 MB)